Wonder how much you'll get?
View the SSDI Pay Chart for 2024

SSDI Benefits in North Dakota

Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) is a federal program available to North Dakota residents who cannot work due to a disability. If you've worked before and now have a serious medical issue that prevents you from working, this program can help.

The Social Security Administration (SSA) handles the SSDI program, managing applications, determining eligibility, calculating benefit amounts, and sending out monthly payments. The SSA also ensures that those receiving benefits continue to meet the eligibility requirements.

How to Qualify for SSDI

In North Dakota, qualifying for SSDI depends on the nature of your disability and your prior work history. You need a medical condition that aligns with the SSA's definition of a disability, and you must have worked long enough to earn the necessary work credits.

What Are Work Credits?

Work credits show how much you've worked and contributed to the Social Security system through your payroll taxes. You can earn up to four credits per year. The number of credits needed to qualify for SSDI depends on your age when you become disabled.

How Does the SSA Define Disability?

The SSA has specific rules about what counts as a disability. It has to be a condition that stops you from working and seriously interferes with basic work activities. The disability must last at least a year or result in death. If the applicant is expected to recover from their medical condition in less than 12 months, the claim will be denied.

The SSA uses a list of medical conditions known as the Blue Book to determine who qualifies for disability benefits. This guide describes the specific requirements for each disability to qualify for SSDI.

What Is a Consultative Examination?

A Consultative Examination (CE) is a medical exam requested by the SSA when more information about your health condition is needed. The exam provides the SSA with additional information about how your medical condition affects your ability to work.

How to Apply for SSDI in North Dakota

In North Dakota, SSDI applications can be submitted online, by phone, or at a local Social Security office.

Apply for SSDI Benefits Online: https://secure.ssa.gov/iClaim/dib

Apply By Phone: 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778) between 8:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

When you apply for disability benefits, you'll be asked to provide a variety of information to support your claim. This helps the Social Security Administration (SSA) assess your eligibility.

You will be asked to provide information such as your Social Security Number, medical information, doctor names and contact details, a list of medications, work history, and a recent W-2 or tax return. Having this information ready helps the SSA assess your eligibility.

Filing an Appeal

If North Dakota denies your SSDI claim, you can appeal. The appeal process has 4 different levels. If you disagree with a decision, you can escalate your appeal to the next level. The final stage of appeals is a federal court review, which requires having an attorney.

If you need help with your appeal, a disability advocate or attorney can assist you.

Disability advocates and attorneys offer similar services, but only attorneys can provide attorney-client privilege. You will also need a lawyer if your appeal goes to federal court.

Both professionals charge a percentage of the back pay benefits if you win your case, and there's no charge if you don't win.

Supplemental Security Income in North Dakota

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is another program managed by the SSA. It aids low-income individuals in North Dakota who have a disability, are blind, or are 65 or older. Unlike SSDI, SSI is about financial need instead of work credits.

In addition to meeting the low-income requirements, SSI recipients must belong to one of the following groups:

  • People who are blind
  • Adults aged 65 and above
  • People who are unable to work because of a disability

Applying for SSI can be done online, in person, or by phone.

Apply for SSI Benefits Online: https://www.ssa.gov/ssi/start.html

Apply By Phone: Call 1-800-772-1213

In North Dakota, those who receive SSI may also qualify for other programs like Medicaid and SNAP, providing additional support for those in need. Medicaid can assist with healthcare expenses, while SNAP helps individuals and families purchase nutritious groceries. These additional programs can help ease the financial burden that many North Dakota residents face.

North Dakota - Social Security Disability Office Locations

Office Code Name Address Weekday Hours Phone Number
705 FARGO ND Rm 320 Fed Bldg, 657 2nd Ave N, Fargo, ND 58102 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM 877-335-4114
708 BISMARCK ND Ste 100, 4207 Boulder Ridge Rd, Bismarck, ND 58503 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM 877-319-6044
706 MINOT ND Minot Metro Center, 1414 20th Ave Sw, Minot, ND 58701 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM 866-415-3193
707 GRAND FORKS ND Ste 300, 402 Demers Ave, Grand Forks, ND 58201 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM 888-617-0456